As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
Home > UL 2849 Explained

UL 2849 Explained: What the E-Bike Safety Certification Means

Last updated: September 2026

Shopping for an electric bike, you will see "UL 2849" and "UL 2271" in listings. They relate to electrical and battery safety, not to how well a bike rides. Here is what they cover, what they do not, and how to check a claim.

The short answer

Why battery safety is worth a line in the checklist

E-bike batteries are lithium-ion packs. Like the batteries in phones and laptops, they can overheat and, in rare cases, catch fire, especially when they are damaged, poorly made or charged with the wrong charger. Fire departments and consumer-safety agencies in the US have published warnings about e-bike battery fires, and some cities have responded with rules. New York City, for example, has required that e-bikes sold there be certified to recognized safety standards. Check the current rules where you live.

How to check a "UL certified" claim

  1. Read exactly what is claimed. "UL 2849" (whole electrical system) is broader than "UL 2271" (battery only). "UL-certified battery" does not mean the whole bike is certified.
  2. Look for the mark and the model. Certified products carry a certification mark and the listing should name the product that was certified, not just the brand.
  3. Verify it yourself. UL publishes a public product database where you can search by company and product. If you cannot find the bike there, ask the seller for the certificate or report number.
  4. Be careful with look-alikes. Phrases such as "UL-tested components" or "meets UL standards" are not the same as a certification of the finished bike.

What the listings of our featured bikes say

This table shows what each bike's Amazon listing states (checked 2026-09-29 to 2026-10-02). We have not independently verified these certifications, so use the steps above before you rely on them.

E-bikeCertification stated in the listing
Gotrax R1 20" Folding E-BikeUL 2849
Ancheer StreetRider 14" Folding E-BikeNot stated in the listing text we recorded
Heybike Mars 3.0 Fat-Tire Folding E-BikeUL 2849
Heybike Cityscape 2.0 City E-BikeNot stated in the listing text we recorded
Gotrax Dolphin 26" Step-Thru E-BikeUL 2849
Ancheer 26" Commuter E-BikeUL 2849 and UL 2271
Funhang 26" Step-Thru City CruiserUL 2849
Funhang 26" Fat-Tire E-BikeUL 2849
Aipas M1 Pro Step-Thru Fat-Tire E-BikeUL 2849
Jasion EB5 26" E-BikeNot stated in the listing text we recorded
Jasion Roamer/ST 26" Step-Thru E-BikeUL 2849
Vivi MT26GUL 26" Step-Thru E-BikeUL 2849
Funhang EB-M1 26" Mountain E-BikeUL 2849 and UL 2271
RPINT 14" Folding E-BikeUL 2849 and UL 2271
Ecogou 14" Folding E-BikeUL 2849
TST 20" Fat-Tire E-BikeNot stated in the listing text we recorded
Jasion RetroVolt 20" Fat-Tire E-BikeUL-certified battery protection
PUCKIPUPPY Boxer 26" Fat-Tire E-BikeNot stated in the listing text we recorded
isinwheel U7S 20" Fat-Tire E-BikeNot stated in the listing text we recorded
Gotrax S4 16" Folding E-BikeUL 2849
vefreedom E7 20" Folding Fat-Tire E-BikeNot stated in the listing text we recorded
MOONCOOL 26" Step-Thru E-BikeNot stated in the listing text we recorded

"Not stated" means the listing text we recorded did not name a standard, not that the bike is uncertified. The Heybike Cityscape 2.0 listing describes its battery as UL-certified without naming the standard.

Charging and storage basics

Certification helps, but habits matter just as much. General good practice, in line with what safety agencies recommend:

Follow your manufacturer's manual first; it overrides this general list.

Next steps

Related reading

This article is general information, not legal or professional advice. Laws, local rules and product specifications change, so always check the current rules where you ride and the details on the product page before you buy. Top EBike Rank does not test the bikes it features; see how we choose.